Events | Conference: John Rawls's "A Theory of Justice at Fifty"

Notre Dame | September 24, 2021 – September 25, 2021

2021 brings the 50th anniversary of the publication of A Theory of Justice and the centenary of John Rawls's birth. In September of this year, the University of Notre Dame will host an international conference to mark those anniversaries. The conference will bring together approximately 25 of the best political philosophers in the world who engage Rawls's work, some critically and some sympathetically. The conference promises to advance scholarly understanding of his thought and its relevance to contemporary politics.

Thomas Mann Fellow Rainer Forst is invited to participate in a session on September 24, at 3:45 p.m., entitled Rawls and Public Reason Liberalism.


Find the program for this conference and information on how to register here.


University of Notre Dame
McKenna Hall Conference Center
1399 N. Notre Dame Avenue
Notre Dame, IN 46556

Register here

© Forst

Prof. Dr. Rainer Forst is Professor of Political Theory and Philosophy at Goethe University Frankfurt. His research focuses on questions of justice, democracy and tolerance as well as Critical Theory and practical reason in the tradition of Immanuel Kant. In 2012 he was awarded the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize of the DFG. Rainer Forst is Full Member of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities and Corresponding Fellow of the British Academy. From 2010 to 2018 he was an Associate Editor of "Ethics" (now on the board) and he has been a Member of the Executive Editorial Committee of "Political Theory" and engaged in various functions in numerous other international journals. Also, he is Co-Editor of the book series "Theorie und Gesellschaft" and "Normative Ordnungen" at Campus Verlag. Prof. Dr. Rainer Forst is 2021 Thomas Mann Fellow.

This conference is organized by the University of Notre Dame Department of Philosophy.

Villa Aurora & Thomas Mann House e. V. is supported by the German Federal Foreign Office and Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media.



Go back